Board of Directors

"I believe Arbor Acres has a bright future. As Board Chair, it was an exciting challenge to be a part of shaping that future. We are fortunate to have not only a committed Board, but also our talented staff who believe in our mission of allowing residents to live life fully in a beautiful setting. Our gifts and hopes are many as we move forward as a vibrant community appreciating our heritage, while preparing for the future at Arbor Acres." ~Vicki Hunt, Former Board Chair

The Board of Directors governs Arbor Acres, sets policy, and advises the Arbor Acres management team. Board members supply a wealth of diverse experience and perspectives. Residents and family members of residents serve on the Board to assure Arbor Acres remains attuned to its customers.

Board of Directors:

  • Susan S. Schwartz, Chair, Executive Director, Cemala Foundation
  • Pamela H. Ball, Chair Elect
  • Florence P. Corpening, Secretary, Retired Executive Director, Gateway YWCA
  • Danny R. Newcomb, Treasurer, CPA, Managing Member, Kadnew, LLC
  • Welborn E. Alexander, Jr., Resident, Retired Executive, CSX Corporation
  • Arthur L. Bloom, Executive and Business Coach
  • Dr. Dudley C. Chandler, Jr., Resident, Retired Periodontist
  • Courtney H. Douglas, Co-Owner, The Perfect Present
  • Susan C. Elster, Philanthropic Advisor, Winston-Salem Foundation
  • Scott J. Gerding, Business Owner, Midtown Café and Dessertery and River Birch Lodge
  • Cynthia S. Graham, Executive Director, The Strickland Family Foundation
  • David C. Hinton, CPA, Business Owner
  • Vicki Hunt, Registered Nurse
  • Kaye P. Lambert, Retired Educator
  • J. William McGuinn, Jr., Retired President, First Citizens Bank
  • Kathryn A. Nelson, Accountant/Financial Consultant, Wells Fargo Bank
  • Drewry H. Nostitz, Philanthropist, Community Supporter and Volunteer
  • Steven L. Reeder, Vice President, Human Resources, BB&T
  • James M. Ruffin, Consultant, Community Service
  • Dr. William F. Sayers, Resident, Retired Physician
  • J. Hill Stockton, President, Norman Stockton
  • Wendy Walker-Fox, Executive Director, Piedmont Triad Regional Workforce Development Board
  • John W. Willingham, President, Indera Mills


  • Dale E. Driscoll, President/CEO, The Driscoll Group
  • Bishop Paul L. Leeland, Residing Bishop, Western NC Annual Conference
  • Margaret “Pinky” Hayden, Retired Assistant State Superintendent for Policy and Planning  
  • The Rev. Michael F. Bailey, District Superintendent, Yadkin Valley District

Andrew W. Applegate, President/Chief Executive Officer, Arbor Acres